Advanced & Unlimited British National Championships, 2017

This competition has now ended

Sywell Northampton
29th June - 2nd July
Entry deadline: 22nd June
Contest Director
Nick Buckenham - 07773 768386
Chief Judge
Steve Todd - 07973 521209
Airfield Contact
Sywell (01604 644917)
Advanced (British National Adv Power Champion, £80.00 entry fee)
Unlimited (British National Unl Power Champion, £80.00 entry fee)
--- 4 Minute Freestyle (David Perrin Trophy)
Competing pilot fee

From 0930hs on Thursday


First briefing 1030hrs Thursday

09:00hrs Fri to Sun


The programme is built around the Unlimited event, which will take priority in case revisions are necessary. Contest will be run according to CIVA format. A marked box and line judges will be used if logistically possible. Results of the Free Known will count towards the final results.

Electronic copies of Advanced and Unlimited Free Known sequences (Aresti or OpenAero, preferably in ".seq" file format) must be received by the closing date, or the default sequence must be flown.


  • AM: Briefing and Free Known
  • PM: Unknown (BAeA drawn in Free Unknown style, CIVA Unknown 1)
  • PM: Figure submission for Free Unknowns


  • AM: 1st Unknown (BAeA) continued
  • PM: CIVA Free Unknown 2
  • 09:30 latest - all Pilots nominate Free Unk 2 choice
  • 15:00 latest - all Pilots nominate Free Unk 3 choice

Friday evening

  • Contest Dinner (All BAeA members are invited)


  • AM CIVA Free Unknown 3
  • PM Unlimited Final Freestyle


Weather contingency to allow all scheduled sequences to be flown if Sunday weather permits. The Final Freestyle may be flown ahead of the 2nd Unknowns if that is considered appropriate by the Contest Director.


Airfield/Pilot fee to be paid at registration

Airfield details

For more information on this airfield pleae visit

Name & location
Sywell Northampton EGBK, 5nm NE of Northampton
Contact details
Sywell (01604 644917)
424 feet
03L/21R 1258m x 30m (hard)
03R/21L 671m x 30m (grass)
15/33 450m x 18m (grass)
05/23 602m x 30m (grass)

PPR: The airfield will remain operational during the contest, with fixed wing and helicopter movements routed to avoid the overhead when necessary.

AVGAS 100LL, MoGas & Jet A1

Aviator Hotel - 01604 642111
Northampton Tourist Office 01604 622677

Contest entrants

Pilots name Aircraft & registration Date entered
Advanced (British National Adv Power Champion)
David Nichols G-IISC (Extra 330SC) 9th January
Ron Allan G-ZVKO (Edge 360) 19th February
Paul Brice G-IISC (Extra330sc) 3rd June
David Kean G-IIID (DR107) 14th June
Paul Elvidge G-CDDP (EDGE 360) 16th June
Philip Massetti G EDGY (Edge 540) 16th June
Stijn De Jaeghere OO-SDJ (E330SC) 16th June
Chris Brook G-IISC (Extra 330sc) 16th June
Nick Wakefield G-IIIT (Pitts S2A) 20th June
Cas Smith G-ICAS (Pitts S2B) 21st June
Emily Collett G-GODV (Cap 232) 22nd June
Mike Collett G-GODV (Cap 232) 22nd June
David Thomson OH-SKA (Cap 232) 22nd June
Paul Tomlinson OH-SKA (CAP 232) 22nd June
Unlimited (British National Unl Power Champion)
Phil Burgess G-TBC! (DR-107 / XA-41) 9th May
Gerald CJ Cooper G-IIRI (XA41) 11th June
Tim BARNBY GIIRI (XA41) 14th June
Melanie Astles F-HMEL (Extra 330 sc) 15th June

Judges & assistants

Below are all judges and assistants who have volunteered to help out at this contest

Thu 29th June Fri 30th June Sat 1st July Sun 2nd July
Steve Todd, CJ Steve Todd, CJ Steve Todd, CJ Steve Todd, CJ
Sarah Hardy Sarah Hardy Sarah Hardy Sarah Hardy
John Royce John Royce John Royce John Royce
Eric Marsh Eric Marsh Eric Marsh Eric Marsh
Leif Culpin Leif Culpin Leif Culpin Leif Culpin
Edward Waasdorp Edward Waasdorp Edward Waasdorp Edward Waasdorp
Paul Morrison Paul Morrison Ian Scott Paul Morrison
John Scott John Scott Julie Wood Ian Scott
Ian Scott Ian Scott Tim Dickson (Scribe) Julie Wood
Julie Wood Julie Wood John Scott Tim Dickson (Scribe)
Alan Cassidy Martin Sandford Paul Morrison Martin Sandford
Peter Rounce Ruth Scott Alan Cassidy John Scott
Phil Bennett (AM) Alan Cassidy Peter Rounce Alan Cassidy
Chris Sills Peter Rounce Dave Farley Peter Rounce
Ian Turner Dave Farley Chris Sills Chris Sills
- Phil Bennett (PM) - -
- Chris Sills - -
- Ian Turner - -