Sports & Intermediate British National Championships, 2017

This competition has now ended
31st August - 2nd September
Entry deadline: 24th August
Contest Director
Chris Sills - 07966 612434
Chief Judge
Brian McCartney - 07885 363187
Airfield Contact
Gavin Forrest (01487 834161)
Sports - £97.50 (British National Spo Power Champion)
Intermediate - £97.50 (British National Int Power Champion)
Competing pilot fee

From 09:00 on Thursday

  • Thursday : 10:00
  • Friday :  08:00
  • Saturday : 08:00


  • AM Sports Known, Intermediate Free Known
  • PM Sports Unknown 1, Intermediate Unknown 1


  • AM Sports Unknown 2, intermediate Unknown 2
  • PM Sports Unknown 3, Intermediate Unknown 3
  • Eve contest dinner - all welcome


  • Completion of sequences not flown

Sunday cannot be used as a competition day.


Electronic copies of Intermediate Free Known sequences (Aresti or OpenAero, preferably in ".seq" file format) must be received by the closing date, or the default sequence must be flown

Airfield details

For more information on this airfield pleae visit

Name & location
Conington EGSF, 7nm S Peterborough
Contact details
Gavin Forrest (01487 834161)

Pilots arriving from the North/Northwest should particularly avoid Sibson ATZ where intensive parachuting operations take place.

Radar service is obtainable from RAF Waddington if coming from the north, possibly Lakenheath or Marham if from the east, up to 1700 local on Friday. 

See Conington's overhead joining info

AVGAS 100LL, Jet A1
An engineer is on call at weekends

Try also:

  • Redwings Lodge (A1 5m south) 01487 830100 
  • The Stilton Cheese (3m west)  01733 240546
  • Premier Inn at Normans Cross   0871 527 8870

Contest entrants

Pilots name Aircraft & registration Date entered
Sports (British National Spo Power Champion)
George Haye N697RB (Pitts S1T) 1st June
Martin Luton G-DAZZ (RV-8) 26th June
Jake Cook G-EEEK (Extra 200) 13th July
Simon Wood G-HOON (Pitts S1-S) 14th July
John Royce G-EEEK (Extra 200) 15th July
Neil Whitehead G-CIKS (T67M Firefly) 19th July
Sharon Zhaohuachen Wang G-IIXI (Extra300) 19th July
Duncan Cumberlidge G-TSOL (Acrosport 1) 22nd July
Sebastian Zytomski G-EEEK (Extra200) 23rd July
Stephen Smartt G-EEEK (Extra 200) 24th July
Maciej Kulaszewski G-EEEK (Extra 200) 24th July
Matthew Kitson GEEEK (Extra 200) 4th August
Alan Murphy G-IIAI (CAP232) 10th August
Ruth Scott G-BNSP (T67M Firefly) 16th August
Intermediate (British National Int Power Champion)
Harri Kanto G-EEEK (Extra200) 22nd January
Alex Cartwright G-KITI (Pitts S-2E) 14th February
Graeme Fudge GGODV (CAP232) 27th March
David Hall G-BTTR (Pitts S2A) 9th May
Anthony Walsh G-OLUD (Extra 200) 12th June
Dave Farley G-GKKI (CAP 231 EX) 4th July
Stephen Evans G-CBHR (Laser 230) 29th July
David Heard G-TWOO (Extra 200) 7th August
James Page G-EEEK (Extra 200) 16th August
Matthew Morris G-TWOO (Extra 200) 18th August
Richard Welch G-WIGY (Pitts S1-S) 18th August
Kris Liesmons G-TWOO (Extra 200) 20th August
David Slater G-BKPZ (Pitts S1T) 21st August
Jez Burgoin N80035 (Pitts S2A) 24th August

Judges & assistants

Below are all judges and assistants who have volunteered to help out at this contest

Thu 31st August Fri 1st September Sat 2nd September
Brian McCartney, CJ Brian McCartney, CJ Brian McCartney, CJ
Eric Marsh Eric Marsh Eric Marsh
Leif Culpin Leif Culpin Leif Culpin
Paul Morrison Paul Morrison Paul Morrison
John Scott John Scott John Scott
Ian Scott Ian Scott Ian Scott
Julie Wood Julie Wood Julie Wood
Nick Buckenham Nick Buckenham Nick Buckenham
Karin Riedl Karin Riedl Karin Riedl