Tiger Trophy, 2018

This competition has now ended
22nd September - 23rd September
Entry deadline: 13th September
Contest Director
Eric Marsh - 07770 860670
Chief Judge
Ian Scott - 07836 265628
Airfield Contact
Chris Skinner (​01977 682 674​​)
Club - £30.00 (BAeA Club Plaque)
Sports - £75.00 (Tiger Trophy)
Intermediate - £75.00 (Tiger Trophy)
Advanced - £75.00 (Tiger Trophy)
Unlimited - £75.00 (Tiger Trophy)
Competing pilot fee

From 0900 Saturday


09:30 Saturday

09:00 Sunday

  • Club Known (x2)
  • An Unknown compulsory (Spo to Unl)
  • Surprise Unk (Spo to Unl)

Teams: Pilots are invited to enter this event in teams of between 3 and 6 pilots per team. Teams may consist of pilots from mixed levels.

The Team Trophy will be awarded on the combined results of The Tiger unknown compulsory and The Surprise unknown. The scores of the top 3 pilots in each team will be amalgamated and the team with the highest overall score will win the BAeA Team Trophy.

If the Surprise unknown is not flown, the Team trophy will be awarded on the results of the Tiger unknown alone. Entry to this event as a team member is NOT compulsory in any way.

Team representatives should contact the Head of Contest Organisation or the Membership Secretary well ahead of the entry closing date to register their team name and members names and to check eligibility of both.


Pilots competing in the Tiger Trophy must enter at the highest level at which they have previously competed at a BAeA or International event. The intent of this requirement is that pilots should fly at the level which challenges the full extent of their aerobatic capability and hence puts all pilots on an equal footing.

In some circumstances, pilots may have been inactive at competitions for a number of years, or may have chosen to compete at a lower level of competition. In such instances, the Head of Contest Organisation may exempt a pilot from this requirement.

An exemption will not be given if the pilot has competed at a higher level within the previous five years. Pilots who wish to obtain an exemption to this rule and fly at a lower level, must contact the Head of Contest Organisation for approval before the entry deadline for the contest.

Airfield details

For more information on this airfield pleae visit http://www.sherburnaeroclub.com/

Name & location
Sherburn-in-Elmet EGCJ, 5.5nm W Selby
Contact details
Chris Skinner (​01977 682 674​​)

Do not overfly villages of Sherburn-in-Elmet, South Milford, Monk Fryston or Hambleton. Paved runway to North of grass runways is closed to aircraft.

Because of raised ground in the box, the minimum height for Unlimited sequences will be 200m.

It is almost certain that the West judging position will have to be used. Therefore a free break will be allowed if the on-judge or off-judge component of the actual wind is judged by the CD to be in excess of 15 knots.

AVGAS 100LL, UL91 & Jet A1
Available Saturday

Selby Tourist Office 01757 703263


Contest entrants

Pilots name Aircraft & registration Date entered
Club (BAeA Club Plaque)
Alan George G-BRBN (Pitts S-1S) 27th August
Sports (Tiger Trophy)
Mark Thomas G-UIII (Extra 200) 12th September
Steven Bakhtiari G-TWOO (Extra 200) 12th September
Roger Ganpatsingh G-ODDS (Pitts S2A) 13th September
Daniel Blackhurst G-TWOO (Extra-200) 21st September
Intermediate (Tiger Trophy)
George Haye G-SKEW (Cap232) 14th December
Anthony Walsh GOLUD (Extra 200) 30th July
Jez Burgoin N80035 (Pitts S2A) 2nd August
Trevor Dugan G-ISZA (S2A) 22nd August
David F Brown G-TWOO (Extra 200) 13th September
Advanced (Tiger Trophy)
Dave Farley G-GKKI (CAP 231EX) 30th July
Paul Elvidge G-CDDP (EDGE 360) 10th September
David Heard G-TWOO (EXTRA 200) 10th September
chris sills G-EDGY (edge 540) 12th September
Brian McCartney G-GKKI (Cap 231EX) 13th September
Cas Smith G-ICAS (Pitts S2B) 13th September
Matthew Morris G-TWOO (EXTRA 200) 13th September
Unlimited (Tiger Trophy)
Phil Burgess GRIHN (One design) 12th September
Chris Brook G-IISC (Extra 330sc) 13th September

Judges & assistants

Below are all judges and assistants who have volunteered to help out at this contest

Sat 22nd September Sun 23rd September
Ian Scott, CJ Ian Scott, CJ
Sarah Hardy Sarah Hardy
Hazel Auld Hazel Auld
Martin Sandford MartinSandford
Julie Lewis Julie Lewis