McAully & Fenland Trophies, 2021

This competition has now ended
24th July - 25th July
Entry deadline: 15th July
Contest Director
Eric Marsh 07770 860670
Chief Judge
John Royce 07495 961898
Airfield Contact
Michael Wright (0116 259 2360)
Sports - £75.00 (Elywn McAully Trophy)
Intermediate - £120.00 (Fenland Trophy)
Competing pilot fee

From 09:00 Saturday


Friday 19:30hrs On-Line (Zoom)

Saturday 10:00hrs

Sunday 08:00hrs



  • Sports McAully Known
  • Intermediate Free Known
  • Sports 1st Unknown
  • Intermediate 1st Unknown


  • Sports 2nd Unknown
  • Intermediate 2nd Unknown
  • Sports 3rd Unknown 
  • Intermediate 3rd Unknown



Important! - Everybody attending, (pilots and officials), MUST provide evidence of a negative lateral flow Covid-19 test taken within 48hrs of arrival. Testing kits are widely available from pharmacies or by clicking here.

Due to unknown Covid-19 restrictions, the structure of this event may change at very short notice.

Electronic copies of Intermediate Free Known sequences (Aresti or OpenAero, preferably in ".seq" file format) must be received by the closing date, or the default sequence must be flown.

McAully note
This prestigious trophy dates from 1962, the sequence format now requiring Sports pilots fly the Known Compulsory programme plus 3 free figures totalling a maximum of 30K to be performed immediately after the Known but with an unpenalised break for height / repositioning if required. Within these three figures, no manoeuvre (i.e. Aresti Catalogue number) may be repeated. The aim is to introduce the concept of Free sequence design at an early stage to help pilots in their progress up the aerobatic ladder.

Here are links to two very useful documents that can help you decide these extra figures, construct the necessary forms and send the result to the BAeA office. For judges the paperwork must be clear or they may find your efforts hard to assess. The whole sequence can then be practised to allow you to compete to the best of your ability.

  • Here is a BRIEFING SHEET on "How to do it"
  • Here are the 2021  forms A, B and C for you to complete in advance of the event: Click Here

Airfield fees to be collected at registration.

Airfield details

For more information on this airfield pleae visit

Name & location
Leicester EGBG, 4.0nm ESE Leicester
Contact details
Michael Wright (0116 259 2360)
AVGAS 100LL, Jet A1

Leicester Tourist Office

Contest entrants

Pilots name Aircraft & registration Date entered
Sports (Elywn McAully Trophy)
Barbara Blythe G-EEEK (Extra 200) 24th June
Stuart Baylis G-IIID (DR107) 29th June
Nick Riddin G-TAZZ (DR107) 5th July
Ilies Zidane G-IIID (DR107 One Design) 13th July
James Seward G-KITI (Pitt’s S-2E) 14th July
Mark Larroucau G CBGH (Teverson Bisport) 14th July
Duncan Ross G-EEEK (Extra 200) 14th July
Danielle Jackson G-XXHP (Extra 300L) 15th July
Intermediate (Fenland Trophy)
Anthony Walsh GOLAD (Extra300L) 21st June
Yair Yaniv HA-XEN (Genpro) 25th June
Maciej Kulaszewski HA-XEN (GenPro) 28th June
Gary Ferriman G-IIGL (Christen Eagle II) 12th July

Judges & assistants

Below are all judges and assistants who have volunteered to help out at this contest

Sat 24th July Sun 25th July
John Royce 07495 961898, CJ John Royce 07495 961898, CJ
Brian Gleave Brian Gleave
Dominic Gleave (Scribe) Dominic Gleave (Scribe)
Rod Hervé Rod Hervé
Nick Buckenham Nick Buckenham
Ruth Scott Ruth Scott