Direction of flight

  • For most figure types what you see on the the form B/C or L/R sequence diagram dictates the into-wind or down-wind direction in which the aeroplane must fly along the box Main Axis, either Left-to-Right or Right-to-Left from the Judges viewpoint.
  • In figures that have a cross-axis element this may be flown toward or away from the Judges to position the aeroplane within the box, but once the initial direction has been selected any following cross-box elements must maintain this set directionality.
  • When a figure has an internal section that is flown along or temporarily passes through the Main Axis the correct direction of flight into-wind or down-wind must be used. 

Consider the elements that are annotated in this diagram -

If these directionality rules are not followed then one or more of the figures have been flown incorrectly and the Judge must award an HZ wherever this is appropriate.

In the figures (A) to (E) shown below -

  • The central 45° element of the three-line figure (A) must be flown into-wind
  • The central 45° element of the three-line figure (B) must be flown down-wind
  • In figure (C) the Rolling Turn must initially change direction in the down-wind direction
  • In figure (D) the Turn must initially change direction in the into-wind direction
  • The top of pull-pull-pull Humpty Bump (E) must be flown in the down-wind direction
  • The top of the pull-push-pull Humpty Bump (F) must be flown in the into-wind direction

In each case if this is not done you should regard the figure as ‘wrongly flown’ and award an HZ.

  • The direction of the yaw/rotation in Stall Turns is not affected by these rules, use of the left-rudder or the right-rudder is a free choice by the pilot.
  • In Tail Slides the orientation of the aeroplane at the top is a free choice by the pilot, provided of course that the canopy-UP or canopy-DOWN pitch motion is correct.

If the pilot elects to take a 'break' or interruption on the secondary axis then -

  • If the break is taken following a correctly flown figure then the restart direction must be the same as that before the break was taken.
  • If the restart is made in the opposite direction then all following cross-box figures must receive an HZ (flight in the wrong direction) until the error is rectified or flight along the main axis (in the correct direction!) is resumed.
  • After a penalized interruption however there is no obligation for the pilot to resume the sequence across the box in the direction of flight before the interruption.

As a Judge or a Pilot therefore you must maintain a constant awareness of the 'correct' or 'allowable' direction of flight of and within each figure, and Judges must be sure to apply the relevant penalty should any of the above rules not be met.